Who Moved my Cheese?

Leave a comment

May 11, 2015 by From the Alli Files

I remember in the late 90’s someone giving my dad a book entitled “Who Moved my Cheese?” It was a goofy little rhetoric about dealing with change in life, learning to adapt, and making the best out of places that aren’t our comfort zones. A few years later when I had to change schools for the third year in a row, this time to a brand new town, my dad kept referencing quotes from this book—and I began to despise it with every ounce of my being. But, by December of that year, I had transformed into a newly confident child with an outgoing personality and a myriad of friendships that would last me into college. My cheese had been moved, and it had empowered me to blossom more freely into adolescence than I would have before.

Comfort zones are silly sometimes. We get so complacent and bored, and often crave something new; but then, when the Lord places newness into our lives, we freeze in indecision and fear, and cling to what we’ve known all along, terrified to release the mediocre parts of our life for the new, beautifully adventurous moments God has in store for us.

Hebrews 11 is one of my favorite chapters of the Bible. Many call it the “Faith Hall of Fame,” as it describes various individuals whose lives shaped the story that God had laid out for his people. However, verse 13 is my favorite: “These people all died in faith, not having received the things promised, but having seen them and greeted them from afar, and having acknowledged that they were strangers and exiles on the earth” (ESV).

The people in all those crazy stories of faith never got to see the purpose for the (often insane) events that God lead them through. They just did what God said, and trusted that it was for a reason. Whether that meant waiting over a hundred years for a child and then being asked to sacrifice him on an altar, or building a huge boat in the middle of a desert, or leaving home for an unknown land … they simply obeyed. There was no looking back, and no questioning (well, mostly no questioning). God’s short-term plan was all they needed to believe that it was overall better for God’s people (who wouldn’t even show up for centuries later).

This week, I pray I can celebrate when my cheese is moved, because the history of the Lord’s promises shows me that something beautiful is ahead—even if I’m not the one that gets to see it. May my faith be strong enough in the moment to do what He says, regardless of the insanity my humanness tells me I’m participating in. Let’s be crazy faithful to God this week, y’all. It’s how He works His story in his most celebrated soldiers.

jesus-and-the-teddy-bear

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

